Please review the FAQs below regarding impounded vehicles. If you do not locate the answer you need or have additional questions, please contact the Records Unit at (520) 229-4900.
On or after the 30th day of impound OR if you get your license reinstated earlier, your vehicle will generally be eligible for release to you. To have it released, follow these steps:
You must pay the towing and storage fees at the towing company. Payment is made directly to the towing company. If you come to the tow yard at other than normal business hours, you may be charged a gate fee. You must also present proof of your identity and ownership (title or registration) to the tow company.
Yes, but hearings are usually not needed. Hearings are generally only needed if you are challenging the validity of the impound.
If you do want a hearing, you may make a request to the Oro Valley Police Department in writing, in person or by telephone at 11000 N. La Cañada Drive or by calling (520) 229-4900.
We must receive your request for a hearing no later than ten (10) days from the date of the vehicle impoundment and may be done by phone. If your request is received after the ten day time period, we will not grant you a hearing on this matter. In most cases, you must wait 20 days before you can get your vehicle back.
You can ONLY arrange to have your vehicle released by contacting the Oro Valley Police Department. The towing company CANNOT release the vehicle back to you without permission from the police department.
In some cases, you may be able to get your vehicle back before the end of the 20 days, but you may still have to pay all fees and charges.
No. Most people who do not meet one of the exemptions will not request or need a hearing. If you get your license reinstated before the end of the 30-day period, you may be eligible to have your vehicle returned to you without a hearing.
Generally, hearings are only for the purpose of contesting the impound. In order to have your vehicle released prior to the 20 days required by law, you must be able to prove that certain special circumstances exist.
No, there is no fee or charge for a hearing.
No, an attorney is not needed. The hearing process is informational and rather brief.
The law requires that the vehicles impounded under this law be stored for a period of twenty (20) days before being released.
You may be eligible to have the vehicle released early only if you meet one of the following conditions or circumstances:
No. The towing company will not release an impounded vehicle without paperwork from the Oro Valley Police Department. You must follow the claim process as outlined below.
The owner of the vehicle is responsible for paying all fees and charges in order to have the vehicle released. If someone else was driving, you may have to seek civil action against the driver for any expenses you incur as a result of the impound.
The registered owner of this vehicle is liable for towing fees, storage charges of not more than $15.00 per day and administrative fees of up to $150.00. The administrative fee must be paid to the Oro Valley Police Department in the form of a cashier's check, money order or cash. No credit cards or personal checks will be accepted.
You must meet the legal title and registration requirements before the vehicle can be returned to you. This can be done through the Arizona Motor Vehicle Department. If the vehicle is registered out of state, you must either register the vehicle in Arizona or deal with the state in which it is currently registered.
No. As long as the officer impounded your vehicle according to the law and our procedures, the outcome of any trial is not relevant.
Under the law, the owner, owner’s spouse, their agent or attorney, or lien holder are the only persons who can have the vehicle released. If your vehicle was impounded because you did not have a valid license, and your license is still not valid at the end of the 20-day, you can bring someone with you who has a valid license in order to get your vehicle back.
An agent is someone who is legally entitled to act for you, such as your attorney or someone you have given legal power of attorney. A friend or relative cannot be considered your agent unless they have notarized documentation giving them power of attorney.
Yes. The owner is still liable for all towing and storage fees up to the actual date of release.