Calendar  ⋅  Contact  ⋅  Documents  ⋅  Employment  ⋅  FAQs  ⋅  Maps  ⋅  News  ⋅  Online Services  ⋅  Projects

Citizen Academy

(Weekly event) Feb 13, 2018 to May 01, 2018 (ended)View all dates

All scheduled dates:

  • Tuesday, February 13, 2018 - 6:00pm-9:00pm (ended)
  • Tuesday, February 20, 2018 - 6:00pm-9:00pm (ended)
  • Tuesday, February 27, 2018 - 6:00pm-9:00pm (ended)
  • Tuesday, March 6, 2018 - 6:00pm-9:00pm (ended)
  • Tuesday, March 13, 2018 - 6:00pm-9:00pm (ended)
  • Tuesday, March 20, 2018 - 6:00pm-9:00pm (ended)
  • Tuesday, March 27, 2018 - 6:00pm-9:00pm (ended)
  • Tuesday, April 3, 2018 - 6:00pm-9:00pm (ended)
  • Tuesday, April 10, 2018 - 6:00pm-9:00pm (ended)
  • Tuesday, April 17, 2018 - 6:00pm-9:00pm (ended)
  • Tuesday, April 24, 2018 - 6:00pm-9:00pm (ended)
  • Tuesday, May 1, 2018 - 6:00pm-9:00pm (ended)

The Oro Valley Police Citizen Academy is a 36-hour block of instruction designed to give the public knowledge of the OVPD. It consists of twelve classes, taught by sworn police personnel and civilian staff who work in the different divisions. The instruction is comprehensive and each week a different area of the department is covered, including many activities:


• Experience a ride-along
• See a S.W.A.T. demo
• Watch the K-9 in action
• Hear about criminal investigations
• Meet Oro Valley officers and understand their work


The goal is to provide the citizens enough information to dispel suspicions and misconceptions and to increase rapport through an educational process. The citizens, in turn, enable the officers and civilian staff to learn of their feelings and concerns. The hope is that the graduates of each Citizen Academy will take their new knowledge out into the community, educate others when the opportunity arises and make good decisions, which affect the Police Department and the Town with heightened awareness and better information. Together we can build a safer, stronger community.

Oro Valley Police Tangerine Substation
1920 E Tangerine Rd
Oro Valley, AZ 85755